top of page

Top Prizes For Hayward And The Daily Mail At The SJA British Sports Journalism Awards

Paul Hayward is the 2016 SJA’s Sports Writer of the Year and the Daily Mail the Sports Newspaper of the Year.

The Telegraph’s leading sportswriter, who won his first title 21 years ago, is now a four-time winner of the John Bromley Trophy.

The same panel, widened from the previous year to ensure a spread across the entire sporting spectrum, chose the Mail for the fourth time in a row.

The SJA awards featured five first-time winners of their respective categories, four from national dailies.

Matt Dickinson of The Times is Sports Columnist, Sean Ingle of the Guardian and Observer is Specialist Correspondent, Daniel Taylor of the Guardian/Observer has won Sports Scoop of the Year and the Telegraph’s Oliver Brown is Sports Feature Writer.

Taylor also won the Ladbrokes Football Journalist award for the second  year in succession and was recognised with the other winners at a gala occasion at the Westminster Park Plaza tonight.

Paying tribute to Taylor’s scoop for the football paedophilia scandal, the chairman of judges said: “It is a powerful story, brilliantly and sensitively told, with consequences far beyond the sport itself”.


bottom of page